CMMI Overview

The CMMI Institute is the home of the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI®), a world-class performance improvement framework used by many organizations to achieve high-performance operations. Building upon an organization’s performance objectives, CMMI models provide sets of practices for improving organizational capabilities.  

Thousands of organizations have undergone CMMI appraisals to benchmark their operations and identify performance gaps. In a CMMI appraisal an organization is appraised by a CMMI Institute-Certified Lead Appraiser to identify strengths and weaknesses related to best practices in the CMMI models. A CMMI appraisal demonstrates to customers and business partners the soundness of a business's processes. And by knowing the appraisal results of prospective suppliers and business partners, buyers can make better decisions about creating business relationships with them. 

Three CMMI models exist: CMMI for Development (CMMI-DEV), CMMI for Services (CMMI-SVC), and CMMI for Acquisition (CMMI-ACQ). There is a fair amount of overlap between the three and about 75% of the material is common across all three models.  

Review the key capability areas that our models cover here: Since many organizations develop, procure, and deliver products and services, the following white paper helps you to think about which model to choose to elevate your organization's performance: 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.