"Certifications" for Organizations

Although the terms "certification," "accreditation," and "compliant" are often heard in conjunction with CMMI, no organizations are "certified" in CMMI. The CMMI Institute does not certify the results of any company's appraisal or grant accreditation, nor do we accept legal responsibility for the performance of appraised companies. Rather, organizations are appraised by a CMMI Institute-certified lead appraiser, so the correct terminology is “appraised at” or “rated at.” The distinction may seem minor, but it is important to understand that CMMI is not an element of a certification (like ISO 9000, for example). For more about this issue, review the list of frequently asked questions and look for “How does my organization get CMMI certified?

Appraisal results have a three-year maximum period of validity for SCAMPI (Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement) Class A appraisals. Although an appraisal can become no longer valid for other reasons, three years after the appraisal end date the appraisal results will expire and become invalid based on age. Organizations looking to maintain (or "level up") their appraisal results beyond the 3-year validity period will need to receive another formal SCAMPI Class A appraisal.

A current list of companies who have completed appraisals against the CMMI model, and provided us with written authorization for this release of information, is available on our website, and can be filtered by country. Clicking on any company listing will provide more detailed information regarding the appraisal. Appraisal results that are past their three-year maximum period of validity are removed from this listing. 


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.