How is the terminology changing in CMMI V2.0?

    • Process Areas vs. Practice Areas – “Process Areas” (PAs) are now “Practice Areas” (PAs) to emphasize that CMMI V2.0 is a collection of best practices, not a set of processes to be implemented.
    • Core and Context Specific – Each Practice Area is broken up into a general descriptive section, “Core Information”, and a contextually-applicable section, “Context Specific”.
    • Required/Expected/Informative vs. Required and Explanatory – Required content is necessary for achieving an appraisal rating. Explanatory information is included to aide in accurate interpretation of the required information.
    • Generic Practices and Generic Goals vs. Governance and Implementation Infrastructure – “Generic Practices” (GPs) and “Generic Goals” have been replaced by two institutionalization practice areas, Governance and Implementation Infrastructure, to avoid duplication and improve the intent of institutionalization. Without “Generic Practices”, the “Specific Practices” (SP) designation is no longer needed. The term “process institutionalization” has been replaced by “process persistence and habitual” to emphasize the focus on a project’s or organization’s processes vs. practices of the model.
    • “Acquisition” is now “Supplier Management”.
    • SCAMPI A appraisal vs. Benchmark appraisal
      • Benchmark appraisals (replacing SCAMPI A appraisals) can result in a maturity level rating which is valid for 3 years.
      • New appraisal methods include a statistically-validated random sampling approach that provides broader coverage for data analysis in the Work Unit (WU) and significant reduction in any bias of results.
      • Appraisal approach and planning is emphasized, in order to reduce overall preparation time involved.
    • Sustainment appraisals
      • Sustainment appraisals (new appraisal class) entails a substantially reduced scope to check on process sustainment to ensure maturity is maintained over time.
      • Conducting a Sustainment appraisal can extend a Benchmark maturity level rating for an additional 2 years.
      • After the initial Benchmark appraisal, you may conduct 3 consecutive Sustainment appraisals before you are required to re-baseline with another Benchmark appraisal.
    • SCAMPI B and C appraisals vs. Evaluation appraisals
      • Evaluation appraisals (replacing SCAMPI B & C appraisals) can be used by organizations at any scope and against any section of the CMMI V2.0 model content, providing flexibility to meet business objectives.
Was this article helpful?
34 out of 35 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.